This is the "Database Trials & Announcements" page of the "Database Trials & Announcements" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Trials & Announcements  

Last Updated: Nov 17, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Database Trials & Announcements Print Page

Database Trials & Announcements

( Database announcements may be viewed by clicking on the year tabs above )

From time to time the Harvey Library will offer trials to resources of interest and value to the University community. These trials are usually active for a limited amount of time, which allows the University community to evaluate the product for purchase. For questions or if there are any electronic resources you would like the Library to trial please email Peggy Brown

Current Trials

SocINDEX with Full Text - This database is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Recent/Expired Trials


Biological Abstracts  (1995-present) - Trial Expired Sept 30, 2015. Currently the library subscribes to Biological Abstracts on Ebscohost. For the month of September we are trialing the same content on a different type of interface. Please try it out and let us know how it compares to the current interface. Trials runs Sept 1 - Sept 30, 2015.

PrivCo - Trial Expired Sept 29, 2015 - a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo is comparable to Hoovers, which is currently available on our website. Trial runs from Sept 1 - Sept 29, 2015.

World Politics Review (on EbscoHOST) - Trial Expired Sept 30 - This unique database provides uncompromising analysis of critical global trends to give academics, policymakers, and businesspeople the context they need to have the confidence they want. Written by a network of leading experts and on-the-ground influencers, World Politics Review's substantive content provides access to comprehensive and detailed perspectives that are as valuable as they are rare. The content is much more current than that found in leading international affairs academic journals, without compromising quality. World Politics Review includes multiple areas of study, with thousands of articles in its archives and more than 75,000 words of original content produced each month. This robust and authoritative database covers topics of key relevance to foreign policy, international politics and foreign affairs. Trial runs September 1 - Sept 30, 2015

Women and Social Movements in the U.S. - Trial Expired July 8 - Women and Social Movements in the United States is designed to facilitate the study all aspects of women's history in America from colonial times to the present. It brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, and teaching tools to offer a rich view of US history as seen through women's eyes.

 Policy Map - Trial Expired June 30 - Policy Map is a US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level. It is used in the social sciences, urban studies and regional planning, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration and policy, public health, political science, education, environmental studies, business and finance, economics, statistics and geography, among other areas. Included in the tool is access to PolicyMap’s extensive data collection, with 15,000+ indicators used to understand communities, organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis. In addition, students and faculty can easily upload and incorporate their data into and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.


FEEDBACK - Please provide us with feedback by completing a short Database Survey Form


    Loading  Loading...