Research Guides: Humanities: Articles & Databases

Articles-What are they?

An article is a written piece from a publication such as a journal, magazine or newspaper.

Looking for articles on your research topic?

Step 1: Search the databases:

Search one of the hundreds of article databases available from the Harvey Library.

Some databases will lead to full-text directly either on the database you are searching. Others may have a link for full-text options in other Harvey Library databases.

To access the Harvey Library databases, you need to first go to the library home page, your gateway for academic research. From the Harvey Library Home Page (http://www.hamptonu.edu/universityservices/library/), select Databases A-Z or by Subject.

Step 2: Search the eJournal Finder:

If you are searching for a specific article and have the full citation for a journal article/ or the full title of the journal, you can do a journal search in the eJournal Finder.

Selected Humanities Databases

Humanities International Complete via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
full text of journals, books and other published sources VIVA
Subjects: American Studies, Art, Classical Studies, English (Literature & Linguistics), Film studies, Government & Public Affairs, History, Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures, Philosophy & Religion, Theater, Women & Gender Studies
Vendor: EBSCO
Subscriber: VIVA
Access the full-text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Oxford Music Online (3 User Limit) This link opens in a new window
contains New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Opera and, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Subjects: American Studies, Music, Theater
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subscriber: HU
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of Music Literature
Subjects: Music
Vendor: EBSCO
Subscriber: HU
Coverage dates are from 1967-present. Compiled by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale it is the world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 202 languages from 5,200 journals. There is no better single source for exploring the world of music, from Western and Eastern classical to pop, folk, and jazz.
EBSCO EJS (Electronic Journals Service) - Harvey Library Electronic Journals on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
access to over 400 ejournals Harvey Library subscribes to.
Full-text access to over 1000 e-journals subscribed to by Harvey Library.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: EBSCO
Subsciber: VIVA
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database; indexing & abstracting; content going back as far as 1887
JSTOR - Arts/Sciences (1 - 4, 6, 7) and Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: JSTOR
Subscriber: HU
An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American History, Business, Education, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature, Political Science. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
OMNIFILE Fulltext Mega Edition via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Subjects:
Vendor: EBSCOHOST
Subscriber: HU
Description:
A multi-subject database providing the complete - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from 6 of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Full-text articles from 5 additional periodical databases are also included: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: Project Muse
Subscriber: VIVA
Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Provides access to the full-text/full-image of articles.
Oxford University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subscriber: VIVA
Online access to the full-text/full-image of a range of journals in various subject areas published by the Oxford University Press.

Can't find it at HU?

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to get items from other libraries

Interlibrary Loan

Selected Humanities eJournals

Humanities Research
Humanities Review Journal
Religions
Religions (ISSN 2077-1444), an international and interdisciplinary open access journal on religions and theology, is published by MDPI online quarterly.

.hours-col-loc { padding-right: 10px; }