Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Library Collections: E-books

Information about the Harvey Library's collections

SUMMON

Search E-reference Books at HU


Search Oxford Reference Online

E-books in Databases

These collections require HU INFOTECH login for off-campus access.

E-book Collections Purchased by HU

The Harvey Library has purchased thousands of E-books for the Hampton University community

  • These are primarily scholarly books, rather than books for leisure reading
  • Use SUMMON or the classic catalog to find most E-books
  • Use your HU INFOTECH account for off-campus access to these materials

Using E-books

  • Borrowing EBSCO (NetLibrary) E-books
    • Find books in SUMMON or classic library catalog
    • Select pages for pdf download:
      • Number of pages available for download varies
      • Does not expire
      • Printable
      • Compatible with most portable devices
    • Download whole book:
      • Check out up to 7 days
      • No printing
      • Can be read on desktop or laptop computer
      • Requires Adobe Digital Editions to use with E-reader
      • Cannot be checked out by two people at the same time
  • Borrowing Springer E-books
    • Find books in SUMMON or classic library catalog
    • Select pages for pdf download:
      • Download chapter-by-chapter
      • Printable
      • Compatible with most portable devices
    • Download whole book:
      • Save entire book as .pdf file
      • No digital rights management (DRM)
      • Files may contain watermark or other security device
      • Compatible with most portable devices
  • Borrowing E-books from databases
    • Find books in SUMMON or specific database
      • Not searchable in classic catalog
      • Digital rights management varies
      • File formats vary
    • Some books only available as preview or chapter download

Free E-books

Google Books

Full-text public domain E-books and downloadable pdfs.

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000