Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Database Trials & Announcements: 2015

2015 Announcements

NOVEMBER 2015

NEW  - FIAF was added by VIVA - via Proquest - FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographic resource covering the foremost academic and popular film journals up to the present day

More Springer Ebooks - the library is adding the 2015 Medicine collection Springer Ebooks

OCTOBER 2015

Proquest Sociological Abstracts - VIVA has cancelled access to Proquest Sociological Abstracts effective Dec 31, 2015. The library is replacing it with SocINDEX with Fulltext on EbscoHost. Other resources that will cease as of Dec 31, 2015 include: Proquest ERIC and Proquest PILOTS.

FirstSearch - OCLC is discontinuing the FirstSearch database platform. So all library databases operating on the FirstSearch platform will soon be on the OCLC Worldcat Discovery platform. Be aware of this change.

NEW - Policy Map - a US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level. It is used in the social sciences, urban studies and regional planning, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration and policy, public health, political science, education, environmental studies, business and finance, economics, statistics and geography, among other areas. Included in the tool is access to PolicyMap’s extensive data collection, with 15,000+ indicators used to understand communities, organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis. In addition, students and faculty can easily upload and incorporate their data into and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.

JANUARY 2015

NEW ! Choice Reviews Online (CRO) - premier source for reviews of academic books and digital resources of interest to sholars and studetns in higher education. Each year Choice publishes more thatn 7000 reviews.

MathSciNet - due to VIVA cancellation of this resource, our subscription changed source to LYRASIS. You should not see any changes in service or access.

BioOne Complete - we swiched our source of BioOne from LYRASIS to VIVA - you should see no changes in service or access.

CIAO - due to VIVA cancellation of this resource, our subscription changed source to LYRASIS. You should not see any changes in service or access.

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000