Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Database Trials & Announcements: 2004

2004 Announcements

OCTOBER 2004

New Database: OMNI File Fulltext Mega Edition

This database is a multi-subject database providing the complete - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from 6 of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Full-text articles from 5 additional periodical databases are also included: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

AUGUST 2004

New Database: NAXOS Music Library

Naxos Music Library is an online collection of Classical Music, Contemporary Jazz, World/Folk, New Age, and Chinese music. NAXOS includes the complete NAXOS, MARCO POLO and DACAPO catalogs of over 85,000 tracks. You must have Windows Media Player 9.0 on your computer to listen to NAXOS Music Library selections.

New Electronic Journal Collection: LWW Total Access Collection

LWW Total Access Collection (Lippincott, Williams & Wilkens) This is a collection of over 200 fulltext journals in nursing and medicine. The collection is searchable and accessible through OVID by clicking on the YourJournals@OVID link from the Harvey Library web site. On the Databases Subject Listing it is listed under Medicine, Health, & Nursing and on the Alphabetical List under "Y".

JULY 2004

New Database: Company Dossier

Our new subscription to LexisNexis Company Dossier is now active. Company Dossier is "part of" the business section of Lexis Nexis Academic.To access Company Dossier, when you enter the Lexis Nexis Academic interface, look on the left hand side under the "Academic Search Forms", and select "BUSINESS". You will then be connected to all of the business related search options within the business section. Company Dossier provides detailed company reports and profiles, the ability to "prospect" for companies by searching for specific criteria such as sales figures, and includes a tool for comparing financials of multiple companies. Comparison reports can be downloaded into Microsoft Excel.

JUNE 2004

Database Changes For June 2004

  • ComDisDOME- NEW for June 2004 - index of books, journal articles, dissertations, related institutions and relevant websites pertaining to Communicative Sciences & Disorders. Also contains the Dictionary of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology terms.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - is now available via EBSCOhost (it is no longer available via the RLG service)
  • RILM Abstract of Literature is now available via EBSCOhost (it is no longer available on OCLC FirstSearch)
  • SPORTDiscus is now available via EBSCOhost (it is no longer available via OVID)

APRIL 2004

Harvey Library has added more netLibrary eBooks!

As of April 2004 our Online Catalog contains an additional 10,000+ eBooks, so we now have a total over 31,000 eBooks! All netLibrary eBooks can be accessed through either the Harvey Library Online Catalog (HUWebCat) or by going to the Databases - Alphabetical Listing and selecting netLibrary.

JANUARY 2004

Harvey Library has added Serials Solutions "Article Linker".

Article Linker is a reference linking product that provides improved integration of library online resources.

This product provides links from our bibliographic/citation databases (electronic indexes), such as the FirstSearch databases, directly to fulltext online journal articles, regardless of the original source. This makes it easier for you to locate fulltext online journal articles.

If fulltext is available online, you can link to it directly. If it is not available, you will be able to search our Online Catalog in our print collections.

You can also submit an ILLIAD (Interlibrary Loan Request) directly from Article Linker if it is not available online or in print.

Article Linker from Serials Solutions is configured to work with several article databases from the following vendors: ABC-CLIO, Cambridge Scientific (CSA), EBSCOhost, HW Wilson, FirstSearch , Proquest (ABI-Inform), Gale/InfoTrac, OVID, and AMS MathSciNet.

Article linker works automatically. After your search is complete, look for links that say "Fulltext Options", "Other Fulltext" , "External Link Resolver", or "Article Linker". The location of the link varies with each database.

For information on how to recognize the Article Linker Click Here. For more information call a Reference Librarian at (757) 727-5379.

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000