Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Database Trials & Announcements: 2011

2011 Announcements

DEC 2011

More EBOOKS - we have added another 2629 Ebooks on EbscoHost available in our online catalog under Find Books.

New Database - SciFinder Scholar has been added as a replacement for OCLC FirstSearch Chemical Abstracts Student Edition.

Platform Changes - the following two databases will change platforms by Dec 31 from the old Wilson interface to the EbscoHost interface: OMNIFILE Fulltext Mega Edition and Biography Reference Bank Select.

OCTOBER 2011

New Version of INSPEC database - the library is now offering INSPEC database via EBSCOhost. It formerly was on the Elsevier EV2 platform - new look but the same content ! INSPEC is the world's leading bibliographic database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology. Includes over 8 million records taken from 3,400 technical and scientific journals and 2,000 conference proceedings from 1969 to the present.

Cancelled Database - OCLC has cancelled access to the (CAS). The library is pursuing other options, including access to SciFinder Scholar to replace it.

JULY 2011

New Databases - we have added CINAHL Plus Fulltext nursing journals from EbscoHost (an upgraded version of CINAHL)

Cancelled Databases - We have cancelled ATLA with ATLA Serials and Statistical Insight. VIVA has cancelled access to ERIC and MEDLINE on the EbscoHost platform, but these databases are still available on the web and on other database platforms.

Netlibrary is now called Ebooks on EbscoHost - Due to the sale of netlibrary from OCLC to Ebsco the name has changed and the look will be different ! Same books - different searching interface !

MAY 2011

New Databases - VIVA now provides Contemporary Women's Issues via Gale - a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Contemporary Women's Issues includes English-language titles from East and West Africa, Asia, and South and Central America, the Caribbean, North America and Europe.

JANUARY 2011

Cancelled Databases - as of Jan 2011 FirstSearch databases Arts and Humanities Search and Contemporary Women's Issues and College Source Online are cancelled.

New Databases - we have added Collection 9 Netlibrary ebooks and we now have a grand total of 65,994 netlibrary ebooks in our online catalog that can be accessed 24/7 from any location !

New Proquest Platform - all of the former Proquest databases, plus all of the former Cambridge Scientific Databases have a new look ! This includes: Biological Sciences, BioOne Index, Computer and Information Systems Abstracts, Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Fulltext, EconLit, Engineering Research Database, Environmental Science and Pollution Management, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, MEDLINE, PAIS, PILOTS, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and TOXLINE

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000