Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Database Trials & Announcements: 2017

2017

 

JANUARY 2017

NEW - Kanopy Video Streaming  - Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.

MAY 2017

Duke 2017 EBooks - the 2017 collection of Duke University EBooks were acquired through LYRASIS - The e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection includes at least 100 new electronic books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences

Springer 2017 EBooks - the 2017 collection of Springer EBooks - collection of scholarly Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) and Humanities & Social Sciences with 9,479 titles.

CHANGES & CANCELATIONS:

VIVA announced several cancelations and changes:

Canceled - Annual Reviews (end date July 31, 2017) with perpetual access to content from 2000-July 2017 retained)

Canceled - FIAF(Proquest)  (end date September 30, 2017) private Pooled Funds will be able to retain this product at the current pricing) – this was a recent add on. VIVA is cancelling it for the Publics, but VIVA states the Privates private Pooled Funds will be able to retain this product at the current pricing

Canceled - Literature Online (Proquest)  (end date July 31, 2017)

Cancelled - HarpWeek Annual Access Fee (end date March 31, 2018) exploring the possibility of a cost share to retain; private Pooled Funds institutions will be affected) – our current access is  1857 – 1877

Cancelled - Oxford Reference Online (end date December 31, 2017) there is no perpetual access; the Pooled Funds subscription will also cancel due to shared pricing) – we will lose this as of Dec 31 this year – but could purchase through LYRASIS at a discount

Canceled - Taylor & Francis CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics (end date January 31, 2018; public and private participants should explore a direct subscription if they would like to retain the resource) – we will need to explore a direct sub as this is a primary and required reference work for the Chemistry Department – can be purchased through LYRASIS at a discount

Change - American Chemical Society Journals – Beginning January 1, 2018, VIVA will cover Science Essentials for the public institutions and individual institutions can opt in with local funds for the Core Plus or All Publications packages.  The shift in costs will be phased in over multiple years – TBD how this will affect us, but the Chemistry Department requires access to this collection

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000