Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Library Collections: Circulating Stacks

Information about the Harvey Library's collections

The Harvey Library circulating or “Stacks” collection is arranged in Library of Congress Classification order on the 3rd and 4th floors of the library, with a Juvenile Collection on the 2nd floor.

The collection of over 440,000 titles supports the instructional, research, and service needs of the Hampton University community.

Find Books & More at HU

Search the library's online catalog


Advanced Search

Overdue Fines

  • Overdue fines are $ 0.20 per day per item
  • Maximum fine is $10.00

Can't find it at HU?

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to get items from other libraries

Interlibrary Loan

Circulating Collection

Checkout Limits
USER BOOK DVD
Undergraduates 15 items 4 items
HU Staff 15 items 4 items
Honors Program Undergraduates 30 items 4 items
Graduate Students 30 items 4 items
Faculty 30 items 4 items
Administrators 30 items 4 items
Alumni 4 items 4 items
VTC Borrowers 4 items 4 items

 

 

The Harvey Library's Circulation Policies include detailed information on overdue fines, renewals, consortium borrowing, and course reserves.

Library of Congress Classification

Library of Congress Classification system with examples
SUBJECTEXAMPLES
AGENERAL WORKSAE Encyclopedias, AM Museums, AY Almanacs
BPHILOSOPHY, RELIGION, & PSYCHOLOGYBC Logic, BJ Ethics, BL-BX Theology
CHISTORY: AUXILIARY SCIENCESCC Archaeology, CD Archives, CS Genealogy
DHISTORY: WORLDDA Great Britain, DT Africa
E HISTORY: AMERICASE 184.5- E 185.98 African Americans
FHISTORY: AMERICASF 221- F 235 Virginia
GGEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, & RECREATIONGE Environmental science, GR Folklore, GV Sports
HSOCIAL SCIENCESHA Statistics, HG Finance, HT101-395 Urban communities
JPOLITICAL SCIENCEJF2011-2112 Political parties, JZ International relations
KLAWKF United States Law
LEDUCATIONLC 2851 Hampton Institute History
MMUSICMT 85 Conducting, MT 820-915 Singing
NFINE ARTSNA Architecture
P LANGUAGE & LITERATUREPN4699-5650 Journalism, PS American Literature
QSCIENCEQA Math, QC Physics, QD Chemistry
RMEDICINERS Pharmacy, RT Nursing
SAGRICULTURESD Forestry, SF600-1100 Veterinary medicine, SH Fisheries
TTECHNOLOGYTH 845-895 Architectural engineering, TL 500-777 Aeronautics, TR Photography, TT 490-695 Dressmaking, TX Cooking, TT 950-979 Hairdressing
UMILITARY SCIENCEUC10-780 Maintenance and Transportation, UG622-1435 Air forces
VNAVAL SCIENCEVE7-500 Marines, VM1-989 Shipbuilding
ZLIBRARY SCIENCE & BIBLIOGRAPHYZ657-659 Censorship

Contact Us

Phone: 757.728.6637
Email: ereference@hamptonu.edu


Zoho chat


Instagram Facebook Twitter

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000