Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Library Collections: Juvenile

Information about the Harvey Library's collections

Find Books & More at HU

Search the library's online catalog


Advanced Search

Can't find it at HU?

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to get items from other libraries

Interlibrary Loan

Harvey Library Hours

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Juvenile Collection

Harvey Library’s Juvenile Collection is a selection of books written at reading levels from beginner through young- adult. This collection is intended for the use of students and faculty in Hampton University’s Department of Education. In building this collection, an emphasis has been placed on cultural diversity.

The collection includes both fiction and nonfiction and offers many Newberry, Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, and other award winners. The presence of older as well as newer books in the collection makes possible diachronic studies of children’s literature.

The Juvenile Collection is located on the second floor of the Harvey Library. Its contents are arranged using the Library of Congress classification system.

 

Library of Congress Classification

Library of Congress Classification system with examples
SUBJECTEXAMPLES
AGENERAL WORKSAE Encyclopedias, AM Museums, AY Almanacs
BPHILOSOPHY, RELIGION, & PSYCHOLOGYBC Logic, BJ Ethics, BL-BX Theology
CHISTORY: AUXILIARY SCIENCESCC Archaeology, CD Archives, CS Genealogy
DHISTORY: WORLDDA Great Britain, DT Africa
E HISTORY: AMERICASE 184.5- E 185.98 African Americans
FHISTORY: AMERICASF 221- F 235 Virginia
GGEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, & RECREATIONGE Environmental science, GR Folklore, GV Sports
HSOCIAL SCIENCESHA Statistics, HG Finance, HT101-395 Urban communities
JPOLITICAL SCIENCEJF2011-2112 Political parties, JZ International relations
KLAWKF United States Law
LEDUCATIONLC 2851 Hampton Institute History
MMUSICMT 85 Conducting, MT 820-915 Singing
NFINE ARTSNA Architecture
P LANGUAGE & LITERATUREPN4699-5650 Journalism, PS American Literature
QSCIENCEQA Math, QC Physics, QD Chemistry
RMEDICINERS Pharmacy, RT Nursing
SAGRICULTURESD Forestry, SF600-1100 Veterinary medicine, SH Fisheries
TTECHNOLOGYTH 845-895 Architectural engineering, TL 500-777 Aeronautics, TR Photography, TT 490-695 Dressmaking, TX Cooking, TT 950-979 Hairdressing
UMILITARY SCIENCEUC10-780 Maintenance and Transportation, UG622-1435 Air forces
VNAVAL SCIENCEVE7-500 Marines, VM1-989 Shipbuilding
ZLIBRARY SCIENCE & BIBLIOGRAPHYZ657-659 Censorship

Contact Us

Phone: 757.728.6637
Email: ereference@hamptonu.edu


Zoho chat


Instagram Facebook Twitter

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000