Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Library Collections: Periodicals

Information about the Harvey Library's collections

SUMMON

Can't find it at HU?

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to get items from other libraries

Interlibrary Loan

E-journal Finder

Are you looking for a specific journal or article?
Use E-journal finder to discover

  • Whether a particular journal is included in any of HU's database subscriptions
  • Which journal issues/dates are available in full text online

Search results may link directly to the E-journal or to a database search page


Find E-journals by Title or ISSN

 


Browse E-journals by Title

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other


Browse E-journals by Subject

 

© 2016 Serials Solutions, Inc.

Print Periodicals

The 2nd floor houses a legacy collection (from 1840-2010) of bound journals and magazines; African American-related periodicals are kept in the Peabody Collection on the 3rd floor.

The Harvey Library no longer subscribes to print periodicals with the exception of African American-related periodicals and a few Architecture titles.


Find All Databases

HU subscribes to over 76,000 online periodical titles, newspaper, journals, and magazines which can be accessed through the Harvey Library website using the Databases A-Z, Databases By Subject, or the E-Journal Finder.

Harvey Library databases from A-Z

Harvey Library databases by subject

Microforms

The Microforms are

  • Housed in purple cabinets on the 2nd Floor
  • Printed or graphic material reproduced, photographically, in miniaturized form
  • Microfilm on 35mm film reels
  • Microfiche (a photographic format that stores 98 pages of an original on a 4"x6" sheet of film)

The Harvey Library's microform collection includes

  • The New York Times from 1851
  • The Daily Press from 1888
  • The ERIC collection (a 400,000+ collection of educational reports)
  • Thousands of peer-reviewed journals and magazines from the 1980's and 1990's
  • Many Government Documents

Materials cannot be removed from the library. Reader/printers in the department allow patrons to read and print from microforms, and scanners will allow microforms to be printed, saved, or emailed. African American-related microforms are kept in the Peabody Collection on the 3rd floor.

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000