Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Library Collections: Reference

Information about the Harvey Library's collections

Find Books & More at HU

Search the library's online catalog


Advanced Search

Can't find it at HU?

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to get items from other libraries

Interlibrary Loan

Reference Collection

The Harvey Library print Reference Collection is located on the 1st floor. It is a comprehensive collection containing over 12,000 volumes, providing reference resources for all disciplines taught at Hampton University.

The current plan for this collection is to include as many online reference resources as feasible, in order to enhance remote access to the collection. Online reference resources are available through the Harvey Library Reference Resources web page, the Online Catalog, Research Guides, and SUMMON.

Reference books do not circulate and must be used on the 1st floor of the library.

 

Library of Congress Classification

Library of Congress Classification system with examples
SUBJECTEXAMPLES
AGENERAL WORKSAE Encyclopedias, AM Museums, AY Almanacs
BPHILOSOPHY, RELIGION, & PSYCHOLOGYBC Logic, BJ Ethics, BL-BX Theology
CHISTORY: AUXILIARY SCIENCESCC Archaeology, CD Archives, CS Genealogy
DHISTORY: WORLDDA Great Britain, DT Africa
E HISTORY: AMERICASE 184.5- E 185.98 African Americans
FHISTORY: AMERICASF 221- F 235 Virginia
GGEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, & RECREATIONGE Environmental science, GR Folklore, GV Sports
HSOCIAL SCIENCESHA Statistics, HG Finance, HT101-395 Urban communities
JPOLITICAL SCIENCEJF2011-2112 Political parties, JZ International relations
KLAWKF United States Law
LEDUCATIONLC 2851 Hampton Institute History
MMUSICMT 85 Conducting, MT 820-915 Singing
NFINE ARTSNA Architecture
P LANGUAGE & LITERATUREPN4699-5650 Journalism, PS American Literature
QSCIENCEQA Math, QC Physics, QD Chemistry
RMEDICINERS Pharmacy, RT Nursing
SAGRICULTURESD Forestry, SF600-1100 Veterinary medicine, SH Fisheries
TTECHNOLOGYTH 845-895 Architectural engineering, TL 500-777 Aeronautics, TR Photography, TT 490-695 Dressmaking, TX Cooking, TT 950-979 Hairdressing
UMILITARY SCIENCEUC10-780 Maintenance and Transportation, UG622-1435 Air forces
VNAVAL SCIENCEVE7-500 Marines, VM1-989 Shipbuilding
ZLIBRARY SCIENCE & BIBLIOGRAPHYZ657-659 Censorship

Contact Us

Phone: 757.728.6637
Email: ereference@hamptonu.edu


Zoho chat


Instagram Facebook Twitter

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000