Skip to main content

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

Library Collections: Special Collections

Information about the Harvey Library's collections

Find Books & More at HU

Search the library's online catalog


Advanced Search

Harvey Library Hours

Today's HoursHU_clock

 

University Archives

Contents

Among the Hampton University Archives' holdings are more than 8 million documentary items and over 50,000 photographs and glass negatives reflecting Hampton's role in American education, educational philosophy, political activities, labor issues, and business and international relations. Within the collection are approximately 2 million items and 19,000 photographs relating to the American Indian Education Program. Among these photographs are historic images taken on western reservations that exist nowhere else in the world.

Access

The University Archives are not part of the Library, and patrons cannot search University Museum and Archive Collections online. These collections are not indexed in the Library Catalog or SUMMON. The Harvey Library does have a print finding aid for the Archives.

The Archives are located behind the University Museum's African Art gallery, within the Collis P. Huntington Building. See the University Archives webpage for more information on access to the University Archives.

(757) 727-5062

Peabody Room

History

The Peabody Collection is one of the oldest African American library collections in the country. In 1905, George Foster Peabody obtained 1,400 books and pamphlets on the Negro and slavery from bibliophile Tucker A. Malone and lent them to the library. In 1908, this loan was converted into a gift. Six years later, the library of Dr. Phil Broome Brooks, a black physician in Washington, D. C., was acquired. In subsequent years, other collections were added, including materials on Native American culture.

Contents

  • More than 30,000 items by and about African-Americans
  • Hamptoniana collection with yearbooks and other printed publications from Hampton Institute
  • Hampton University graduate theses and dissertations
  • Realia (artifacts), special collections, and rare books in all subject areas (including small press imprints and books published prior to 1875)
  • Limited editions and signed presentation copies of some newer works
  • Research strengths: legal aspects of slavery and emancipation, the Civil War, Reconstruction, Jim Crow laws, African American life in the South, the African American religious experience, American colonization of Liberia, African American folklore, and the history of African American education

Access

  • The Peabody Room contains "closed-stack" collections
  • Items are requested for retrieval at the Peabody service desk
  • Patrons can locate Peabody items by searching the library's online catalog or through SUMMON
  • Materials housed in the Peabody Collection may only be used within the Peabody Reading Room on the 3rd floor of the Harvey Library, and are checked out at the service desk for a maximum of two hours
  • Fines accrue at a rate of ten dollars per hour

 

Architecture Library

The William Moses Architecture Library is managed by the School of Engineering. The collection includes books, journals, digital and video materials, as well as slides. It also includes the Sol Cohen, Architect archives. This library is located in room 208 on the second floor of the Bemis Laboratory building.

Patrons can locate Architecture Library items by searching the main library's online catalog or through SUMMON.

(757) 727-5411

Music Library

The Music Library is located in the R. Nathaniel Dett Wing of Armstrong Hall.

Patrons can locate Music Library items by searching the main library's online catalog or through SUMMON.

(757) 728-6259

Contact Us

Phone: 757.728.6637
Email: ereference@hamptonu.edu


Zoho chat


Instagram Facebook Twitter

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000