Research Guides: Literature: Articles & Databases

Slave Narratives

Source: New York Public Library Digital Collection

Articles- what are they?

An article is a written piece from a publication such as a journal, magazine or newspaper.

Looking for articles on your research topic?

Step 1: Search the databases:

Search one of the hundreds of article databases available from the Harvey Library.
Some databases will lead to full-text directly either on the database you are searching. Others may have a link for full-text options in other Harvey Library databases.
To access the Harvey Library databases, you need to first go to the library home page, your gateway for academic research. From the Harvey Library Home Page (http://www.hamptonu.edu/universityservices/library/), select Databases A-Z or by Subject.

Step 2: Search the eJournal Finder:

If you are searching for a specific article and have the full citation for a journal article/ or the full title of the journal, you can do a journal search in the eJournal Finder.

Selected Literature Databases

Black life in America This link opens in a new window
African American history, culture, and daily life. Delivers news coverage from thousands of sources not found anywhere else with coverage from 1704 to today.
Subjects:
Vendor: Newsbank
Subscriber: HU
Description:
Compilation of works published from 1693-1830, written by or about members of America's black populace
Literature Resource Center via Gale This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
contains the Dictionary of Literary Biography Series (DLB), Contemporary Authors Series (CA), and Contemporary Literature Criticism Select (CLC - Select)
Subjects: English (Literature & Linguistics), Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures, Theater
Vendor: Gale Cengage
Subscriber: VIVA
The LRC includes: Contemporary Authors/Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Selected criticisms from Contemporary Literary Criticism (all of Contemporary Literary Criticism-Select), Merriam-Websters Encyclopedia of Literature, Selections from other Gale literary Reference sets, and in addition it also includes the Twayne's Author Series and the Scribner Writers Series. MLA can also be searched from within the LRC. Use the Center to locate biographical information on writers, literary criticism and other articles.
Magill On Literature Plus via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
source for editorially reviewed critical analyses, contains all of Masterplots and Masterplots II, Cyclopedia of World Authors, Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, Magill's Literary Annual, Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subjects: English, Literature
Vendor: Salem Press
Subscriber: HU
Description: contains Masterplots and Masterplots II, Cyclopedia of World Authors, Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, Magill's Literary Annual, Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy, and Magill Book Reviews
MLA International Bibliography via Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English (Literature & Linguistics), Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures
Vendor: Proquest
Subscriber: VIVA
The Modern Language Association International database indexes journals concerning all areas of literature, literary criticism, linguistics, folklore, and language. Search it by itself or as part of the Literature Resource Center.

General Databases

OMNIFILE Fulltext Mega Edition via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
a multi-subject database
Subjects:
Vendor: EBSCOHOST
Subscriber: HU
Description:
A multi-subject database providing the complete - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from 6 of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Full-text articles from 5 additional periodical databases are also included: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
multidisciplinary index for scholarly journals and magazines with over 5,500 full-text periodicals
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: EBSCO
Subsciber: VIVA
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database; indexing & abstracting; content going back as far as 1887
JSTOR - Arts/Sciences (1 - 4, 6, 7) and Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
multi - subject collection of journals
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: JSTOR
Subscriber: HU
An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American History, Business, Education, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature, Political Science. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
Oxford University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
fulltext journals from Oxford University Press
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subscriber: VIVA
Online access to the full-text/full-image of a range of journals in various subject areas published by the Oxford University Press.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: Project Muse
Subscriber: VIVA
Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Provides access to the full-text/full-image of articles.

W.E.B.DuBois