This is the "Government Documents" page of the "Government Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

In 1977, the Federal Government designated Hampton University as a Selective Depository for housing government publications. We currently select, receive, and retain approximately 22 % of the items that are distributed by the United States Government.
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://hamptonu.libguides.com/governmentdocuments Print Guide RSS Updates

Government Documents Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to Government Documents at Hampton University

Depository documents in our collection are searchable through the Online Catalog (HUWebCat), the library’s online catalog. They are arranged by Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification number and organized in order by issuing agency. Click on SuDoc Classification to access a guide on using this system.

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

This library is a congressionally 
		designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the 
		government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. 
		(Title 44 United States Code)

 

Location

All government publications in paper form, including maps, are located on the 1st floor of the Harvey Library, opposite the Circulation Desk and microfiche is on the 2nd floor.

 

Identification of Materials

Depository documents in our collection are searchable through the Online Catalog (HUWebCat), the library’s online catalog. They are arranged by Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification number and organized in order by issuing agency. Click on SuDoc Classification to access a guide on using this system.

Hampton University FDLP Free Access

 

FDLP

The Federal Depository Library Program  (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government’s information. GPO administers the FDLP on behalf of the participating libraries and the public. Information products from the Federal Government are disseminated to these nationwide libraries that, in turn, ensure the American public has free access to the materials, both in print and online. 

      
     

    GPO Working for Libraries

     

    Content

    CONTENTS
    In 1977, the Federal Government designated Hampton University as a Selective Depository for housing government publications. We currently select, receive, and retain approximately 22 % of the items that are distributed by the United States Government Printing Office (GPO). The collection includes:

    • maps,
    • posters,
    • microfiche,
    • publications in print,
    • electronic information found on the Internet.
     

    Online Access

    Increasingly government information is available online. Many government documents are available through the Harvey Library Online Catalog (HUWebCat) and many others are searchable through an internet search engine such as Google.

     

    Harvey Library Hours

    Today's HoursHU_clock

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip