Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: EBSCO
Subsciber: VIVA
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database; indexing & abstracting; content going back as far as 1887
African American history, culture, and daily life. Delivers news coverage from thousands of sources not found anywhere else with coverage from 1704 to today.
Subjects:
Vendor: Newsbank
Subscriber: HU
Description:
Compilation of works published from 1693-1830, written by or about members of America's black populace
Comprised of Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, historical black newspapers, current scholarly journals from International Index to Black Periodicals and The Marshall Index, and citations from the Black Literature Index
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Subjects: Communication Studies, English (Literature & Linguistics), Leadership, Sociology & Anthropology
Vendor: EBSCO
Subscriber: VIVA
Provides access to indexing, abstracting and some full-text articles for a wide variety of topics related to communication and mass media.
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: JSTOR
Subscriber: HU
An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American History, Business, Education, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature, Political Science. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: EBSCO
Subscriber: VIVA
Provides full-text access to over 1,500 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Additionally it features: the full-text Magill Book Reviews; full-text reference books; the full-text from over 80,000 biographies; over 105,787 full-text primary source documents; an image collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. PDF backfiles for some publications go as far back as 1975.
Subjects: Multisubject Database, News Vendor: NewsBank Subscriber: HU Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from familiar magazines.
NPR's program Code Switch reports on the rate of at which black Americans are killed by police and lists, non-comprehensively, the names of those killed at the hands of police in the U.S. since Eric Garner's death in July 2014.
24-year-old Ebony Holmes said a video recorded by her friend during the Norfolk traffic stop brings back pain and fear after bring hit in the face by a Norfolk Police Officer.
