Multidisplinary resources on African American Studies
Subjects:
Vendor: Newsbank
Subscriber: HU
Description:
Compilation of works published from 1693-1830, written by or about members of America's black populace
Subjects: American Studies, History
Vendor: EBSCO
Subscriber: VIVA
Article abstracts and bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Includes links to some full-text articles in other databases.
Subjects: Multisubject Database
Vendor: JSTOR
Subscriber: HU
An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American History, Business, Education, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature, Political Science. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
The North Carolina Runaway Slave Advertisements project provides online access to all known runaway slave advertisements (more than 2300 items) published in North Carolina newspapers from 1751 to 1840.
The Geography of Slavery project contains more than 4000 advertisements for runaway slaves and indentured servants, drawn from newspapers in Virginia and Maryland, covering the years from 1736 through 1803.
The Texas Runaway Slave Project (TRSP) is a database of runaway slave advertisements, articles and notices from newspapers published in Texas. The project has so far documented the names of over 1400 runaway slaves from Texas.
Subjects: History
Vendor: VIVA
Subscriber: Free
A union database of finding aids to archival and manuscripts collections in thirteen Virginia repositories. The contents of the database represent only a small percentage of each institution's holdings.
Can't find it at HU?
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to get items from other libraries
This link opens in a new window
