1. What is The Peabody Collection?
The Peabody Collection is a distinctive group of African American resources housed in the William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library, 3rd floor.
2. Can I utilize the room as a study room?
The Peabody Collection is a room dedicated to scholars who want to engage in research with items located in the collection. There are study rooms and individual carols located on the second, third, and fourth floor of the library for student and patron use.
3. Can the material in the Peabody Room be checked out?
No. The material in the Peabody Collection is restricted and must be used in the room only. The reasoning behind "in-room use only" is to preserve the legacy of the African American experience for future generations.
4. Is the Peabody Room the University Archives?
No. The Peabody Collection does have selected Hampton University memorabilia. The University Archives is located in the Huntington Building as part of the University Museum. For further information you can contact the Archives at 757.727.5374.
5. When is the Peabody Room open?
The Peabody Collection is open Monday-Thursday 9 am-10 pm, Friday 8 am-5 pm, Saturday 9 am - 5 pm, and Sunday 1 pm-5 pm.
6. What should I expect on my visit?
When you arrive to the Peabody Collections, expect to fill out a Material Request Form asking for your name, address, student ID number, and the Call Number and title of the materials you are looking for. A Peabody staff member will assist you in finding your materials and you may sit in the Peabody Reading Room.