Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HU_clock

Faculty & Staff: Library Resources for Remote Learning & Instruction: Home

Remote Resources at Hampton University Libraries

Fall 2020: Although classes are remote this semester, the university libraries have a wealth of resources available to assist with learning and instruction.

LIBRARY RESOURCES

LIBRARY HOURS

The library will be open from 8am-5pm on Monday-Friday. At this time, faculty are not allowed to enter the building.

ASSISTANCE

The library is here to assist you with general questions and research by phone, through chat, and through video (Blackboard collaborate).

REMOTE ACCESS

Use these instructions to access our resources from off campus

RESOURCES

The library offers a wealth of resources to assist you with research and learning.

Summon

To search across all resources available in the university libraries, use our Summon search feature. Summon allows you access to books, journals, databases and media all through one search.

Databases

Library databases provide access to thousands of scholarly journals. Use our Databases by Subject or our A-Z listing to view our databases.

Databases by Subject 

Databases A-Z 

E-Journals 

Electronic journals provide access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles.

Research Guides

Subject guides list helpful resources and tips on searching materials by subject.

STREAMING MEDIA 

Watch a film for your classes or just for fun, through streaming media resources Kanopy, Films on Demand or Jove.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

We can electronically deliver journal articles and book chapters which are not found in the Harvey Library collection, but available at other libraries directly to you at no charge. At this time we are unable to fulfill print interlibrary loan requests.

FACULTY AND STAFF SERVICES

The library is available to assist faculty and staff members with research and library instruction assistance.

Borrowing Materials

At this time faculty and staff members will not be able to borrow library materials from the collection. E-Books may be accessed through the library catalog.

Reserves

The library is able to scan articles, up to one book chapter and other materials within copyright guidelines for faculty and staff. This material will be scanned and emailed.

Research Assistance

Librarians are available to do one-on-one virtual consultations regarding library research and services. Feel free to contact us at ereference@hamptonu.edu or call (757) 728-6637.

Library Instruction for Classes

Information Literacy sessions can include a general overview of library resources or focus on a particular resource or topic. Please schedule at least one week in advance. All sessions are conducted via Blackboard Collaborate. If you would like a librarian to provide an information literacy session remotely to your class, please email us at ereference@hamptonu.edu.

Contact US

Have other remote needs?

Or contact us at ereference@hamptonu.edu or call (757) 728-6637

William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library
757.727.5372

©2016 Hampton University
Hampton, VA 23668 : 757.727.5000