Exhibits in the Harvey Library support the educational mission of the library. These exhibits highlight the unique assets of the collections, and promote the study of specific topics within the library.
- Selection Process: Exhibits draw upon circulating and non-circulating collections of the Harvey Library. Special arrangements are required for exhibits on loan from other institutions. Any library staff member may submit a proposal to the exhibit committee.
- The curator writes a proposal for the display. The proposal contains a topic statement, a provisional title, and a preliminary outline.
- An exhibit committee reviews proposals on a quarterly basis to create an exhibit schedule and plan exhibit funding. Ad hoc meetings may be called as needed. The librarian who is the subject area liaison for the topic of the exhibit is consulted on the exhibit content, regardless of his or her membership on the committee.
- Upon approval of her or his proposal, the exhibit curator creates an exhibit inventory list. The books on the list are reviewed by another librarian and the preservation manager at least eight weeks in advance of the exhibit.
- It is anticipated that objects will be deleted for reasons of intellectual content, aesthetics, or preservation. The exhibit curator should also plan for page turning or materials rotating off of exhibit. To provide for rotation or deletion of items from the display, the list must include more items than will actually be shown.
- Damaged materials are not exhibited in the Harvey Library. Any damaged items deemed essential to the exhibit should be routed to the Preservation Manager for repair in advance of the eight week deadline.
- The status of materials on exhibit is recorded in Workflows to ensure that their location can be verified throughout the exhibit planning process. Patron requests for circulating books from the exhibit should be honored in a timely fashion. The exhibit curator is responsible for filling gaps where circulating materials have been withdrawn from the exhibit. These gaps are filled by alternate volumes on the list approved by the Preservation Manager and the exhibit committee
- Exhibit Labels: Exhibit label copy is proofread by two librarians at least two weeks prior to the exhibit. Labels contain citations and credits as required for use of copyrighted content. Donors are acknowledged for gift books placed on display. Acknowledgements and citations use a smaller font than that used for body text.
Labels and signage on loan from other institutions follow regulations set by the lender under the contractual agreement with the lender.
- Exhibit Duration: Books and paper documents are displayed on the same page for no more than six weeks. Photographs, plastics, textiles and other light-sensitive materials are evaluated as needed.
- Light Levels: Cumulative, irreversible deterioration is caused by any and all light exposure. Reading and exhibits require the use of light, but the damaging effects are mitigated by reducing the intensity and duration of exposure. Light levels higher than 50 lux (5 footcandles) are avoided for Peabody collection materials. A light level of 15 lux (approx 150 footcandles) is the maximum for exhibits of circulating library collections. Historic photographs are especially vulnerable to light-induced damage.
- Object Handling: Under normal circumstances, books sit on a shelf, pages closed, buffered by surrounding books. Exhibits introduce the books to extreme circumstances, sitting open for long periods on the same page. Exhibitors minimize the damage caused by the display environment.
Books are handled according to the Harvey Library’s “Handle with Care” guidelines for handling collection materials. Exhibitors are reminded not to force books open beyond 120 degrees. Many oversewn books will not open beyond 90 degrees without damage. Questions regarding the opening angle of books are directed to the Preservation Manager.
Books are supported on cradles or wedges. Custom book supports are constructed under supervision of the Preservation Manager. Prefabricated book supports, book pillows, and other supports may be used as needed.
Rubber bands, adhesive tapes, paperclips, tacks, staples and Post-it™ notes are not used on any Harvey Library collections.
Books are held open with Mylar or polyethylene strapping, using a wide strip to secure the textblock and a narrow strip on the exhibited page. Sturdy books which are exhibited standing open have two forms of support for the textblock, in addition to support for the covers. Consult with the Preservation Manager for instructions in displaying open books.
Paper documents are handled with care. These materials are kept flat and transported in oversized folders. Fragile folded papers are unfolded under the supervision of the Preservation Manager. Fragile papers are not transported without a support board or folder. Maps from the Government Depository collection are handled with care, avoiding the use of tapes or tacks in their display.
- Exhibit Design: Preliminary design ideas are submitted with the initial proposal. The exhibit curator consults with the Preservation Manager regarding exhibit design at least six weeks prior to the exhibit. This is the minimum time required for the design to be executed as planned.
The exhibit curator and Preservation Manager analyze the proposed space, cases, frames, pedestals, mounts, and cradles to ensure that the collection materials will fit into the proposed exhibit. Photocopies and digitally-generated surrogates may substitute for original material, wherever the originals do not fit into the proposed design. Proper permissions and citations accompany all reproductions of materials outside the public domain.
Exhibit designs requiring the purchase of exhibit cradles, vitrines, or sign panels are approved by the exhibit committee and library director. Exhibit designs requiring the construction of custom mounts are approved by the Preservation Manager.
The final exhibit layout is approved by the exhibit committee two weeks before the objects are placed on display.
- Enclosures: Protective enclosures prevent damage to items on display in the Harvey Library. All exhibits of original material require enclosures to prevent mechanical damage and to reduce the harmful effects of the exhibition environment.
Flat paper artifacts are either encapsulated between Mylar or framed using rag board matting materials and UV-filtering glazing. Enclosures are made by the Preservation department or by outside contractors approved by the Preservation Manager.
Exhibit cases are constructed to accommodate objects with their mounts and four inches of clearance on all sides. Exhibit cases for rare materials have locks or security hardware. Only chemically-stable, non-damaging materials are used in exhibit case construction. Old exhibit cases, not meeting modern preservation standards, may be retrofitted under the direction of the Preservation Manager (e.g. replacing the glazing, lining the interior, etc.).
Ultraviolet-filtering glass (e.g. Schott Amiran-TN, Denglas, Tru-Vue), polycarbonate (GE-Lexan), or ultraviolet-filtering acrylic (e.g. Acrylite-OP3, Plexiglas UF4, etc.) protect items in frames and vitrines from light damage. Regular glass is heavy, breakable, and transparent to ultraviolet radiation. Laminated “safety glass” with ultraviolet filtering properties (Amiran) is used for applications where plastic glazing will not work (soft graphite manuscripts, charcoal drawings, etc.).
