Library Preservation

Preservation Policy

The Harvey Library Preservation Department guides the reformatting processes of microfilming, photocopying and digitization, preserving the maximum amount of information possible.  The library reformats items to increase access to the text, recognizing the inherent loss of extra-textual information in each reformatting process.

The William R. and Norma B. Harvey Library digital preservation policy states criteria by which materials in electronic format are selected for preservation.  The Harvey Library commits to preserving information in its original format or as close as possible to that format on a permanent basis.

 

1. Digital Collecting Levels:

The very idea of "collecting" is complicated due to the nature of digital collections.  Following the example of the University of California Digital Library SunSITE, the Harvey Library recognizes four levels of digital collecting, which include associated levels of preservation commitment.  The Harvey Library adds the level of “shared” to reflect involvement with consortia, where a Hampton University collection may reside on a third-party server.

1. Archived:  The material is hosted at Hampton University, and the Harvey Library intends to maintain the intellectual content on a permanent basis.

2. Served:  The material resides on servers at Hampton University, but the Harvey Library has no commitment to preserve the material permanently.

3. Shared:  The material is part of a collaborative project, and the content may be hosted on the servers at Hampton University or at a partner institution.  The Harvey Library shares a mutual responsibility for preservation.

4. Mirrored:  The Harvey Library hosts a copy of material that is archived elsewhere by another institution.  The other institution has primary responsibility for preserving this material.

5. Linked:  The Harvey Library website links to content hosted by another institution.  The content is not part of a shared digital library, so the other institution has full responsibility for preserving this material.

Collections designations may be changed to meet future information needs.  Archived material cannot be reduced to a lower status.

 

2. Preservation Review of Digitization:

The Library Director or the Assistant Director for Collection Development and the appropriate subject area selector (including the Peabody Librarian) may determine that a collection or digital object will be archived.

The Harvey Library begins digital collections with project planning, including time and cost estimates, using such tools as the “RLG Worksheet for Estimating Digital Reformatting Costs” and the University of Illinois “Image Quality Calculator.”

1. Copyright:  The Harvey Library digitizes items in the public domain, or items produced at Hampton University.  The Hampton University legal counsel must establish policies and legal documentation to secure permission for digital preservation from faculty, staff, students, and alumni.

Copyright permission must be sought for projects to digitize any items whose rights are not held by Hampton University or in the public domain.  Copyright questions are resolved in consultation with the Collection Development Librarian prior to reformatting materials outside the public domain, not published by Hampton University.

2. Condition Assessment:  Original materials are sorted into groups based upon their ability to be handled during scanning.  Brittle, torn, or tightly bound items may require treatment before and after scanning.  Stained or discolored items may have increased legibility if treated prior to scanning; treatment may improve the contrast between the paper and the printing or writing.

Audiovisual materials may need assessment to determine their ability to withstand playback on conventional equipment.  Laser scanning and other non-contact reproduction techniques may permit creation of an intermediate facsimile for digitization (a copying or printing master).

3. Handling During Scanning: Handling procedures are dictated by the format and condition if the original item.  All staff are expected to handle items with care during digitization.

Bound materials are scanned using book-edge devices, which do not force the binding to open beyond 120 degrees. 

Items with broken sewing are photocopied, photographed, or scanned while disbound, prior to repair or rebinding.  These items are kept flat and not run through mechanical sheet feeders.  Disbinding for reformatting entails cutting threads, but it should not require pages to be cut, unless a bound item has unopened pages.

Fold-out illustrations and maps are supported by matboard, folder stock, or lignin-free cardboard to facilitate handling during scanning.

A Teflon splitter facilitates page turning and positioning of fold outs.

4. Quality Control: The Harvey Library will follow the U.S. Government Printing Office Specifications and Metrics for Quality Control of Converted Content for quality control of scanned images.

 

3. Digital Formats and Metadata

The Harvey Library creates digital files in formats that are stable and easily migrated. 

1. Master Files: Digital information is saved in a lossless uncompressed format prior to any manipulation of the information.  It may be helpful to use lossy compression for the convenience of patrons using the internet to access digital information, but such files are not considered a permanent record. JPEG and MP3 are unacceptable formats for preservation, for example.

Resolution and bit depth of master files should correspond to the highest capabilities of the available equipment and software, whether for image capture or audiovisual conversion. 

2. File Storage: Master files must be stored in multiple locations, some of which are not networked.  Gold compact discs and DVD’s may be used, as well as external hard drives.  Files on servers that are backed up to tapes should be used in addition to non-networked storage.  Cloud storage, such as ContentDM hosted by OCLC, is an alternative to the network server, not a substitute for a non-networked copy. A minimum of two uncompressed copies of each master file should be made.

Storage media and servers are maintained with appropriate climate control.

3. File Naming Protocol: To enhance interoperability and discoverability, file names should be adapted from the naming protocol used in the HBCU Library Alliance project set up by Cornell University. 

4. Access Files: Access files are cropped, straightened, compressed, or otherwise enhanced in the process of conversion from master files.  Thumbnail images (GIF or PNG) may also be created to enhance access. Care must be taken not to alter the master files during this process.

Access files for audio content may include MP3 files.

5. File Migration:  Digital imaging formats and data storage media lack a single archival standard, so digitization is primarily an access tool.  The library is committed to reformatting or migrating current digital formats to new ones on a five year cycle (or until an archival standard is created).  After five years, it is likely that both the hardware and the software will have become obsolete. 

6. Metadata Standards: The Harvey Library uses the Qualified Dublin Core metadata element set, although other widely-accepted standards may be used for specific projects.  Preferred content management software will support the Open Archive Initiative for metadata harvesting, as well as other accepted standards that enhance interoperability, stability, and discoverability of digital content (e.g. Z39.50, METS, XML).

 

4. User Profiles

The Harvey Library assigns user profiles that determine access to restricted digital content.  Such user profiles may mirror existing profiles for the SIRSIDynix Workflows and various subscription databases.  User profile policies permit some employees to add, edit, and/or delete records, while students and faculty may only view the “public” user interface of Webcat.  Users who are off-campus and not registered with INFOTECH are blocked from using some databases.  The administrator, user, public, and extended public roles and restrictions must be defined for digital collections.

To enhance interactivity and “crowd sourcing” the Harvey Library may provide opportunities for members of the campus community or the wider public to upload content or “tag” content in digital collections preserved by the Harvey Library.  In some instances, collections will be copied to the “cloud” on such websites as “Scribd” or “Flickr,” to facilitate public comment.

 

5. Prints from Digital Files

Preservation photocopies and paper prints of digital files are produced on stable papers, using stable ink sets.  The paper should be rag or alpha-cellulose with a minimum pH of 8.  The ink sets with the best preservation performance are constantly evolving, but the materials produced at Wilhelm Imaging Research are consulted at the time when printing equipment is selected (www.wilhelm-research.com).  Research from the Image Permanence Institute at the Rochester Institute of Technology informs the Harvey Library’s use and handling of prints from digital files.

 

6. Microfilm

Microfilm and microfiche are monitored for deterioration of the acetate film base.  Nitrate-based films and deteriorated acetate films are replaced to prevent their contaminating other films.  All vesicular and diazo films are reformatted to more stable films with silver halide on polyester base.  It is the goal of Harvey Library to reformat or replace all deteriorating microforms.